Digital Get Down

Forgive me for quoting *NSync, but I am a child of the halcyon times in which I grew up – sue me.

This is another entry that could have ended up on Listmania!, but I thought interesting enough to include it here (albeit a couple of months late). This 10-list includes digital marketing stats, and states that they are “must-see.”

I realize the article is, in fact, from Adweek – a publication devoted to news in advertising. But, when any publication manages to pull together a 10-list (I hesitate to use “top 10” because this just seems to be an aggregator sort of situation, as opposed to “these are the top 10 best things from the past week”) based solely on all things digital – BuzzFeed videos, Twitter accounts, Spotify, click-throughs, and podcasts – it warrants more than the minimum of attention.

Most people will understand the feeling of commiseration one sometimes experiences when reading a book or watching a movie. I’m in the middle of a book that happens to include one version of the impending zombie apocalypse, but seems to be more about technology in all of its ridiculous forms. I immediately went back to this place in my head while reading this one. The reason it made me think of the book is because the protagonists are bloggers in the year 2040, and technology (and all things digital!) is the most important thing that exists. They use it for everything – hidden cameras, live feeds, viral testing, security, etc. I think that by 2040, we’ll be looking back to now and not only wondering why people spent so much time posting about what they’re eating or the boring minutiae of their day, we’ll be highlighting this time as the digital point of no return.

Technology is here to stay (until the apocalypse wipes all that junk out – according to most dystopian end-times pop culture predictions). That said, this list does provide a few interesting digital moments from the cross-section of now.

10 Must-See Digital Marketing Stats From The Past Week

Leave a comment